MHS Alumni

Milford 1955

Posted by mhsalumni on August 10, 2008

Greg Bown  (class of 65) sent us these excellent photos  He writes:  “The first appears to be some sort of meeting held in a railroad car.  I don’t know very many of the people there but I thought some would get a kick out of seeing parents, neighbors, etc.  My mother, Ferl Bown is on the fourth row, right next to the slide projector.  It would be interesting to find out who else was there.”
 

Do you recognize who is in these photos, write and tell us who they are. Do you know what the meeting was about with  Gene Mayer in the second photo? Comment and let us all know. Double click on photo to enlarge it.

3 Responses to “Milford 1955”

  1. mhsalumni said

    Suzan sent us this in email,
    The photo in the rail road car, mom, Pat Williams is in the front
    row holding my brother Stephen. Suzan (Williams Hanel)

  2. Georgia B. Thompson said

    I think it is likely one of the programs the Union Pacific used to bring around to rural communities on agriculture and other rural topics. The pix with fewer individuals in it has Grant Esplin who was the Beaver County agriculture agent at that time. The model looks like an idea for improving or upgrading a farm location with new out buildings, better fencing, new trees etc. The UP calendar on the wall says Feb, 1955. I don’t remember if we had a home agent to work with Mr. Esplin in 1955 or not????

    In the picture with lots more people down the length of the UP car is Mr. Esplin in front and then on the right of Mrs. Williams, I think the man is Leo Mayer with maybe Max on his lap? I don’t know all the people down by the projector but one looks like Jimmy Mayer and another like Coy Williams. Sitting at the very back on the far right looks like Donald Baudino???

  3. Judith Cook Oman said

    Sitting in the railroad car behind Pat Williams is my mother, Helen Cook (dark jacket) and my brother Bill Cook 5 yrs old.

Leave a comment